Tuesday , April 28 2015
Breaking News
Home / Duke Basketball / Quinn Cook Named to 2014 Cousy Award Watch List

Quinn Cook Named to 2014 Cousy Award Watch List

Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Top PG Nominees

Tuesday, Oct. 22

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke junior Quinn Cook has been named to the 2014 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award Watch List as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame committee Tuesday. The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball.

Cook earned third team All-ACC (ACSMA) honors last season while averaging 11.7 points, 3.8 rebounds and 5.3 assists per game. The Washington, D.C., native finished second in the ACC in assists and assist-to-turnover ratio (2.4:1), fifth in steals (1.4 spg.) and ninth in minutes (33.6 mpg.), while starting 34 of Duke’s 36 contests. Cook scored in double-figures 21 times a year ago with three games with 20-or-more points and also added three double-digit assist contests. He also developed into a reliable perimeter weapon, knocking down 55 three-point field goals while shooting 39.3 percent from behind the arc.

“The Hall of Fame is proud to work with Mr. Cousy and honor the best point guards playing in college basketball right now,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “This list represents some of the top student athletes from across the country. We are truly honored to be a part of this award.”

“The Bob Cousy Award promotes the values of leadership, determination, and teamwork, all skills needed not only on the hardwood but also in life,” said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). “Mr. Cousy exemplified all of these traits, and continues to be an inspiration to basketball players on and off the court.”

This watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 in early February, then final five by early March. A premier selection committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the candidates in contention for the nation’s top collegiate point guard award. This committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including members of the media, head coaches, media relations contacts and Hall of Famers. The Cousy Award winner will be presented the award on Championship Monday in Dallas at the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2014 Announcement and Press Conference.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A&M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut), Kendall Marshall (North Carolina) and last year’s recipient Trey Burke (Michigan).

For more information on the 2014 Bob Cousy, log onto www.CousyAward.com.

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:
Located in Springfield, Mass., the Birthplace of Basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, men and women.

2014 Bob Cousy Award Watch List

  • Trevor Releford, Alabama
  • TJ McConnell, Arizona
  • Jahii Carson, Arizona State
  • Derrick Marks, Boise State
  • Walt Lemon, Jr., Bradley
  • Justin Cobbs, California
  • Kyle Anderson, UCLA
  • Billy Baron, Canisus
  • Spencer Dinwiddie, Colorado
  • Shabazz Napier, Connecticut
  • Quinn Cook, Duke
  • Brett Comer, Florida Gulf Coast
  • Kasey Hill, Florida
  • Devon Bookert, Florida State
  • Markel Starks, Georgetown
  • Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga
  • Siyani Chambers, Harvard
  • Brandyn Curry, Harvard
  • Yogi Ferrell, Indiana
  • Jake Odum, Indiana State
  • DeAndre Kane, Iowa State
  • Andrew Harrison, Kentucky
  • Elfrid Payton, Lafayette
  • Jason Brickman, Long Island-Brooklyn
  • Anthony Ireland, Loyola Marymount
  • Chris Jones, Louisville
  • Chaz Williams, Massachusetts
  • Michael Dixon, Memphis
  • Joe Jackson, Memphis
  • Keith Appling, Michigan State
  • Jordan Clarkson, Missouri
  • Kendall Williams, New Mexico
  • Marcus Paige, North Carolina
  • Eric Atkins, Notre Dame
  • Aaron Craft, Ohio State
  • Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
  • Dominic Artis, Oregon
  • Tim Frazier, Penn State
  • Kris Dunn, Providence
  • Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
  • Preston Medlin, Utah State
  • Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova
  • Nigel Williams-Goss, Washington
  • Semaj Christon, Xavier
  • Kendrick Perry, Youngstown State