Home / Duke Basketball / Amile Jefferson Named Senior CLASS Award Finalist

Amile Jefferson Named Senior CLASS Award Finalist

Amile Jefferson | Photo: Chris Summerville

Duke forward Amile Jefferson was named one of 10 national finalists for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award on Wednesday.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Part of the selection process for the Senior CLASS Award is a fan vote, which starts immediately at seniorclassaward.com. Fan votes will be combined with votes from media members and Division I head coaches to determine the winner.

Duke’s leading rebounder (9.1) and shot blocker (1.5), Jefferson is also averaging 11.3 points on .592 shooting from the floor this season. He ranks fifth overall in the ACC in rebounding, blocks and double-doubles (6).

For his career, he has played in 116 wins in a Duke uniform and averaged 6.9 points and 6.2 rebounds. His 860 rebounds rank 15th in Duke history and his 334 offensive boards stand fifth on the program’s career chart.

The Philadelphia native is on the verge of becoming the 14th player in Duke history with 1,000 points and 850 rebounds in his career.

In the classroom, Jefferson has been named to the All-ACC Academic Team four times – the only player in Duke history to claim that accomplishment. He graduated from Duke with a degree in history in 2016 and is currently pursuing a Master’s of Christian Studies from the Duke Divinity School.

Jefferson and his teammates have been active at the Emily K Center and Duke Children’s Hospital, using their platform as Duke student-athletes to mentor and inspire local children.

The winner of the 2017 Senior CLASS Award will be announced that the NCAA Men’s Final Four in Phoenix.

2017 Senior CLASS Award finalists

  • Jaron Blossomgame, Clemson
  • Evan Bradds, Belmont
  • Josh Hart, Villanova
  • Josh Hawkinson, Washington State
  • Nigel Hayes, Wisconsin
  • Amile Jefferson, Duke
  • Peter Jok, Iowa
  • Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga
  • Tim Kempton, Lehigh
  • Frank Mason III, Kansas