Brandon Ingram Tabbed One of 10 Finalists for Erving Award

Duke Basketball Brandon Ingram

Photo: Mark Dolejs-USATSI

Duke freshman Brandon Ingram has been selected as one of 10 finalists for the Julius Erving Award, as announced Wednesday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Named after Hall of Famer and 11-time NBA All-Star Julius Erving, the annual honor, now in its second year, recognizes the top small forward in Division I men’s college basketball.

Ingram is joined by Louisville’s Damion Lee as the only other representative from the ACC named to the 10-player list. Ingram is also one of just two freshmen appearing among the final 10, with LSU’s Ben Simmons also earning a spot. In March, five finalists will be presented to Julius Erving and the Hall of Fame selection committee, with a winner’s presentation taking place during the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show held at Club Nokia in Los Angeles, Calif., Friday, April 8.

Hailing from Kinston, N.C., Ingram has produced impressive numbers during his freshman season, leading the Blue Devils in steals (28) and ranking second among Duke players in points per game (17.0), blocks (35), three point field goal percentage (.411) and rebounds per game (6.5). Ingram became the ninth freshman in program history to record eight-or-more 20-point games this year, while also ranking as the only freshman in the conference to record two 20/10 games this season. Ingram has contributed five double-doubles for the Blue Devils, the most of any freshman in the conference. In addition to his offensive prowess, Ingram is also putting up stellar defensive numbers, registering eight games with two-or-more blocks and nine games with more than one steal. Ingram’s 1.6 bpg. currently ranks eighth in the conference and second among freshman in the ACC.

Ingram and the Blue Devils return to competition Saturday, Feb. 6, welcoming NC State to Durham, N.C.


2016 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award Finalists
Roosevelt Jones, Butler
Brandon Ingram, Duke
Wayne Selden, Jr., Kansas
Damion Lee, Louisville
Ben Simmons, Louisiana State
Denzel Valentine, Michigan State
Dillon Brooks, Oregon
DeAndre Bembry, Saint Joseph’s
Nigel Hayes, Wisconsin
Trevon Blulett, Xavier

Share this post

submit to reddit
scroll to top