Home / Duke Basketball / Duke to Host Michigan State in ACC/Big Ten Challenge

Duke to Host Michigan State in ACC/Big Ten Challenge

Grayson Allen Duke
Photo: Bob Donnan-USA Today Sports

Duke will host Michigan State on Tuesday, Nov. 29, as part of the ACC/Big Ten Challenge, the ACC office announced Tuesday in conjunction with ESPN.

ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU will combine to televise all 14 games of the event. All 14 games will also be available via WatchESPN. Network assignments and tip times will be announced at a later date.

Duke is ranked No. 1 in ESPN.com’s early preseason poll for the 2016-17 campaign, while Michigan State is ranked 13th.

Duke owns a 10-2 lead in the series with MSU and has won the last five meetings between the programs. November’s ACC/Big Ten Challenge matchup will be the sixth meeting between the programs since 2010, including two during the 2014-15 season.

The Blue Devils are 15-2 (.882) all-time in the ACC/Big Ten Challenge, marking both the most wins and best winning percentage of any team in the event. Duke is 3-0 against Michigan State in ACC/Big Ten Challenge games. Duke is also 7-0 in Challenge games at Cameron Indoor Stadium.

Following last season’s defeat of Indiana in Durham, Duke is in the midst of a four-game Challenge winning streak.

On the heels of a 25-win season and a Sweet 16 appearance in 2016, Duke welcomes back a veteran core led by graduate student Amile Jefferson, senior Matt Jones and junior All-American Grayson Allen for the 2016-17 campaign. The Blue Devils also add one of the nation’s most heralded recruiting classes to the fold, a group of six headlined by center Marques Bolden, forward Harry Giles, guard Frank Jackson and forward Jayson Tatum.

2016 ACC/Big Ten Challenge Schedule
Monday, Nov. 28
Minnesota at Florida State
Wake Forest at Northwestern

Tuesday, Nov. 29
Syracuse at Wisconsin
Michigan State at Duke
Pittsburgh at Maryland
Iowa at Notre Dame
Georgia Tech at Penn State
NC State at Illinois

Wednesday, Nov. 30
Purdue at Louisville
North Carolina at Indiana
Ohio State at Virginia
Virginia Tech at Michigan
Rutgers at Miami
Nebraska at Clemson