Fantake: 2012-2013 Duke Blue Devil Preview

Editor’s Note: This is another of hopefully many more FanTakes. If you are interested in writing your own FanTake, please visit this link for more details. The opinions expressed here are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the positions of this site.

Head Coach:  Mike Krzyzewski; 33rd season at Duke (38th Overall; 927-289)
2011-2012 Final ACC Standings: 2nd place; Overall Record: 27-7 (13-3)
2012-2013 ACC Standing Prediction: 3rd place

Team Overview:

Duke loses its top scorer, Austin Rivers (15.5 PPG), as he left Durham after his freshmen year for the NBA Draft.  There is plenty of talent returning this season for Coach K’s team.  Duke returns, 72 percent of its scoring from a year before, and they bring back three experienced seniors (the loss of Andre Dawkins hurts, as he decided to redshirt this year).  But last year, Duke was uncharacteristically horrible on defense.  The team was ranked tenth in the conference in scoring defense (giving up 68.6 PPG) and their field goal defense was just as bad, also ranking tenth in the ACC (.433 percent).  Duke will need improvement on the defensive side if they want to compete for the top spot in the ACC.

Three Major Questions:

  1. Andre Dawkins, his family, and the coaching staff made the decision to redshirt this year (due to the death of his sister back in 2009 and his recovery from it), who will step up in his absence, and how will the guard rotation look for this team?
  2. Speaking of redshirting, Duke had two players (Alex Murphy and Marshall Plumlee) redshirt the year before.  What will their impact be this season, can one, or both players come in and give Coach K quality minutes?
  3. Does Duke predicate its offense around the big men, or will the guards carry the load?  Duke has much talent returning in the post, notably, seniors, Ryan Kelly and Mason Plumlee, will Coach K utilize that talent?

2012-13 Men’s Basketball Roster

Key Losses:

No.NameClassPos.Ht.Wt.*PPG*RPG*APG*TPG
0Austin Rivers (NBA)Fr.G6-420015.53.42.12.3
13Michael Gbinije (transfer)Fr.G/F6-62051.70.80.20.4
21Miles Plumlee (graduating)Sr.F6-102456.67.10.51.2
20Andre Dawkins (redshirting)Sr.G6-42008.42.10.60.8

Projected Starters:

No.NameClassPos.Ht.Wt.*PPG*RPG*APG*TPG
2Quinn CookSo.G6-01754.41.01.90.5
Rasheed SulaimonFr.G6-3175
30Seth CurrySr.G6-218013.22.62.42.0
34Ryan KellySr.F6-1123011.85.41.11.4
5Mason PlumleeSr.F6-1023511.19.21.62.2

Reserves:

No.NameClassPos.Ht.Wt.*PPG*RPG*APG*TPG
3Tyler ThorntonJr.G6-11954.11.92.01.0
12Alex MurphyFr.(r)F6-8220
15Josh HairstonJr.F6-72352.71.40.20.5
40Marshall PlumleeFr.(r)F/C6-11225
52Todd ZafirovskiSr.F6-92400.00.40.20.2
Amile JeffersonFr.F6-8190

*indicates averages from 2011-2012 season

 

Share this post

submit to reddit

9 Replies to “Fantake: 2012-2013 Duke Blue Devil Preview”

  1. nolan says:

    A other key notes:
    Alex Murphy will be a big contributor for next season's team. He is putting up crazy numbers right now for the finish national team. Don't be surprised to see him in the starting lineup at some point in the year. We need him to fill that wing/small forward spot not only on offense but more importantly on the defensive side of the ball. I think alex murphy and quinn cook will determine how good this team can really be.

  2. AJ says:

    That 3-guard lineup doesn't work for us… amile or alex will have to start… we need that height and athleticism… not having a true small forward hurt us last year

  3. Nick K. says:

    Thanks for the input and opinions AJ and Nolan, I really appreciate it.  I do agree with your points, that having a solid three man in the starting rotation would be nice.  And there is a good chance either Amile or Alex could fill that role, bringing Rasheed off the bench more than likely.  Three guard rotations have worked in the past under Coach K, and with programs all over the country.  By no means am I saying this is set in stone, just a lineup I like.  And great point Nolan, the way Alex is playing over in Europe for the Finland National Team, he just may be a started this fall.

  4. Charlie says:

    Nice write up, Nick. However, I still think Coach K will have TT get the majority of the starts at PG. Quinn showed some real flashes of brilliance last year on offense, and is most likely our best ball handler and distributor, but K seems to really value TT's leadership and poise. I think he is slightly overrated defensively, he is very pesky, and has great energy when defending opposing ballhandlers, but struggles to stay in front of guards with elite quickness.
    Despite that, I think having his vocal presence on the court is a huge boon that is overlooked by most people, and his constant hustle and effort serve as a wonderful example for his teammates. I think he and Quinn should split minutes pretty evenly.
    I also agree that Murph looks ready to be a 4-year starter in the mold of Kyle Singler. If he plays half as hard as #12, he could be special.

  5. Nick K. says:

    Hey Charlie, thanks for the response, I really appreciate it.  I do understand what you are saying about Tyler.  His defense and leadership is a valuable asset, that cannot be undermined.  I do like Quinn Cook starting because I believe he is more of a pure point guard.  Someone who could average 5, 6 assists this season, and get our offense into a flow.  No doubt both guys will see plenty of minutes, I just gave Cook the nod as a starter due to his ability to create for others, and slashing ability.  With that being said, this year's team has the ability and talent, to be nine or ten deep.

  6. JOSEPH says:

    WOULD BE GREAT IF MURPHY WAS A PLAYER–GO MURPHY

  7. chris says:

    I BELIEVE THE LINE UP SHOULD BE SULAIMON, CURRY, MURPHY, KELLY, PLUMLEE TO START. BRING COOK OFF THE BENCH….DID ANYONE ELSE SEE HIM PLAY AT THE END OF LAST YEAR….HE WAS TERRIBLE

  8. Nick K. says:

    That is a solid lineup Chris, but I do think it lacks a true point guard.  I think Cook or Thornton could fill that role nicely, and bring Sulaimon off the bench.  Cook definitely struggled toward the end of last season, perhaps it was a freshmen crash there, where he was getting acclimated with the season, and the long college season got to him.  Now, I know it is just NC Pro Am, but Cook has been great so far this offseason,  He is dropping a ton of assists and is being aggressive, now I do not know how that will translate once we get to the season, but its very encouraging, and I believe he has the makeup to be the floor general this year, and get the offensive going.

  9. johnathan says:

    This is what I think at the point guard position will be occupied by rasheed sulaimon he’s good offensively and showed me some good defense and he reminds me of nolan smith. Seth is obviously the shooting guard and should be among the top scorers of the acc. I believe alex murphy should get a chance to start because he reminds me of kyle singler. Ryan will be the power forward. Mason the center. Now I believe amile could get the small forward position if murphy doesn’t do good. Marshall will be very good and he could get the job away from mason some time during the season. Other than that I believe you can compare this team to the 2010 team that won the national championship but better.

Comments are closed.

scroll to top