Home / Duke Basketball / Frank Jackson Named a Cousy Award Candidate

Frank Jackson Named a Cousy Award Candidate

Frank Jackson Duke Basketball Recruiting
Photo: Brian Spurlock-USATSI

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Duke freshman Frank Jackson was named one of 20 candidates for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award on Monday in announcement by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

The award, which is presented by College of the Holy Cross, is now in its 14th year recognizing the top point guard in Division I men’s college basketball.

Rated as the No. 10 overall recruit in the 2016 high school class by ESPN, Jackson earned co-MVP honors at the 2016 McDonald’s All-American Game after scoring 19 points to lead the West squad to victory. He is the fifth Duke player to win at least a share of the award, joining Bobby Hurley, J.J. Redick, Josh McRoberts and Jahlil Okafor.

The Alpine, Utah, native also won the 2016 McDonald’s All-American Game slam dunk contest.

Jackson is a key component of the nation’s second-ranked recruiting class, earning second-team Naismith Trophy All-America honors and Gatorade Utah Player of the Year accolades as a senior after averaging 28.1 points, 6.4 rebounds and 3.0 assists per game at Lone Peak High School. He was also a third-team USA Today All-USA selection in his final prep campaign.

Jackson was selected to participate in the 2015-16 USA Basketball Men’s Junior National Team minicamp and played on the U.S. team that defeated the World Select squad at the 2016 Nike Hoop Summit.

The Cousy Award committee will narrow its watch list to 10 players by mid-February and a list of five finalists will be announced in March. The winner of the 2017 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show in Los Angeles on April 7.

For more information on the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross, visit cousyaward.com.

2017 Bob Cousy Award Candidates

  • Jalen Adams, Connecticut
  • Maurice Watson Jr., Creighton
  • Jack Gibbs, Davidson
  • Frank Jackson, Duke
  • Nigel Williams-Goss, Gonzaga
  • Monte Morris, Iowa State
  • Frank Mason, Kansas
  • De’Aaron Fox, Kentucky
  • Melo Trimble, Maryland
  • Joel Berry II, North Carolina
  • Dennis Smith, NC State
  • Jawun Evans, Oklahoma State
  • Lonzo Ball, UCLA
  • Jordan McLaughlin, Southern California
  • Jalen Brunson, Villanova
  • London Perrantes, Virginia
  • Seth Allen, Virginia Tech
  • Markelle Fultz, Washington
  • Bronson Koenig, Wisconsin
  • Edmund Sumner, Xavier