Home / Duke Basketball / Jayson Tatum in Final Five for Erving Award

Jayson Tatum in Final Five for Erving Award

Jayson Tatum | Photo: Chris Summerville

Duke forward Jayson Tatum took another step toward becoming the second freshman ever to win the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award on Wednesday with inclusion on the list of the final five players under consideration.

Fans can help Tatum’s cause by voting daily at hoophallawards.com from March 10-24. The winner of the 2017 Julius Erving Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show on April 7 in Los Angeles.

The St. Louis native ranks second on the team in rebounding (7.3) and scoring (16.0), which rank first and second, respectively, among ACC freshmen. He is shooting .433 from the floor, .358 from the three-point line and .870 from the free throw line.

He is on pace to become the 14th Duke freshman under head coach Mike Krzyzewski to average more than 30 minutes per game (32.3). The ultra-versatile Tatum has also set a Duke single-season record with six games of at least 10 points/5 rebounds/3 assists/2 steals/2 blocks; those six occasions are also the third-most in Duke history for a career.

He has scored in double figures 20 times in 23 games since making his debut in early December, including four 20-point efforts and a pair of double-doubles.

Tatum’s scoring average currently ranks sixth on Duke’s freshman list, while his rebound average is on pace to be the fifth-best ever by a Duke freshman. He is on the verge of joining Parker and Okafor as the only freshmen under Coach K to average 16+ points and 7+ rebounds.

His free throw percentage of .870 (87-of-100) also currently ranks fifth on Duke’s freshman charts.

A three-time ACC Freshman of the Week, Tatum was a third-team All-ACC selection and a member of the ACC All-Freshman Team.

For more information on the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award, log on to hoophallawards.com.

Julius Erving Award Final Five
Dillon Brooks, Oregon
Josh Hart, Villanova
Josh Jackson, Kansas
Justin Jackson, North Carolina
Jayson Tatum, Duke