Trevon Duval Among Twenty Candidates for 2018 Bob Cousy Award

Photo Courtesy: Duke Athletics

SPRINGFIELD, MASS. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2018 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award. Among the 20 candidates was Duke freshman Trevon Duval, who was a consensus top 10 recruit, and number 1 point guard prospect, for the Blue Devils’ incoming freshman class. The 6-3 2017 McDonald’s All-American selection averaged 16.2 points and 7.7 assists at IMG Academy as a senior in high school.

Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor now in its fifteenth year recognizes the top point guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“These twenty student-athletes truly represent the best in the college game today and we are eager to see what they will achieve in the 2017-18 season,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “They exhibit many of the characteristics that made Bob Cousy a tremendous player and floor general and we are pleased to be recognizing them.”

Bob Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950 winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2018 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.  The winner of the 2018 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 6, 2018. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Frank Mason III, Kansas (2017), Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

For more information on the 2018 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award log onto

2018 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates

Collin Sexton – Alabama

Manu Lecomte – Baylor

Jalen Adams – Connecticut

Trevon Duval – Duke

Jordan Bohannon – Iowa

Devonte’ Graham – Kansas

Quentin Snider – Louisville

Nate Mason – Minnesota

Joel Berry II – North Carolina

Bryant McIntosh – Northwestern

Matt Farrell – Notre Dame

Trae Young – Oklahoma

Kyron Cartwright – Providence

Shake Milton – SMU

Jaylen Adams – St. Bonaventure

Jordan McLaughlin – USC

Jalen Brunson – Villanova

Bryant Crawford – Wake Forest

Jevon Carter – West Virginia

Landry Shamet – Wichita St.

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2017-18 season*

Share this post

submit to reddit
scroll to top