Duke Women’s Golf Heads to ACC Championship at Sedgefield

Photo by Tim Cowie of GoDuke.com

Photo by Tim Cowie of GoDuke.com

DURHAM, N.C. – The sixth-ranked Duke women’s golf team will head to the ACC Championship this week in search of its 20th title in school history.  The championship will take place from April 15-17 and will be played at the 6,089-yard, par 72 Sedgefield Country Club in Greensboro, N.C.  The Blue Devils move to postseason action winners of three tournaments this season – Tar Heel Invitational, Landfall Tradition and LSU Tiger Golf Classic.

The format of the championship will feature 18 holes each day with tee times beginning at 8:00 a.m. on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Friday’s first round features Boston College, Virginia Tech and Clemson teeing off from 8:00 through 8:40 a.m.; North Carolina, Wake Forest and Miami from 8:50 through 9:30 a.m.; Louisville, NC State and Notre Dame starting from 9:40 through 10:20 a.m.; and finally Duke, Virginia and Florida State from 10:30 through 11:10 a.m.

The Blue Devils have had a history of success at the ACC Championship, claiming 19 titles in program history, including three out of the last four years (2012, 2013 and 2014).  Duke has also collected ACC Individual Champions in 12 of the past 17 events. Head coach Dan Brooks has led the squad to 18 of the 19 championships over his 32 seasons at Duke.

Duke, who is currently listed at sixth in the most recent Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index, will be joined in the championship by nine other teams tabbed in the top 50 rankings including No. 17 Virginia, No. 24 Florida State, No. 29 Notre Dame, No. 32 NC State, No. 34 Louisville, No. 39 Miami, No. 44 North Carolina, No. 47 Wake Forest and No. 48 Clemson.

Fans will be able to follow the action with live scoring at www.GolfStat.com as well as live streaming on Saturday and Sunday via ESPN3. The action will be aired Saturday, April 16 at 2:00 and Sunday, April 17 at 1:00 p.m., until the conclusion of play.  Fans can also follow along on Twitter (@Duke_WGOLF & @ACCWGolf) and Facebook.

The Blue Devils enter the event with six top five finishes on the season, highlighted by wins at the Tar Heel Invitational, Landfall Tradition and LSU Tiger Golf Classic.

Duke will feature a lineup that includes senior Celine Boutier, junior Sandy Choi, sophomore Leona Maguire, sophomore Lisa Maguire and freshman Virginia Elena Carta.

In the latest Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index, Leona Maguire is listed No. 6, while Carta (29), Boutier (38) and Choi (46) are also ranked.  Duke boasts the top golfer in the ACC among stroke average as Leona Maguire owns a 72.2 ledger, while also holding four of the top 10 overall stroke averages – (Boutier 72.8, T5; Carta & Choi 73.4, T10).

Leona Maguire, the reigning ACC Champion and 2014-15 National Player of the Year, leads the league with a 72.17 stroke average, while posting one victory and four top 10 finishes on the season.  A product of Cavan, Ireland, Maguire won the Tar Heel Invitational in the fall and leads Duke with 11 rounds of even or under par.  She currently leads the nation with a .819 greens in regulation percentage on par three holes.

The 2014 ACC Champion, Boutier collected her fourth career victory at the LSU Tiger Golf Classic this spring with a 54-hole ledger of 208.  Boutier, who hails from Montrouge, France, owns a 72.79 stroke average along with four top 20 finishes and nine rounds of even or under par.

One of the top freshmen in the nation, Carta owns five top 20 finishes and three top 10 placements, while totaling a 73.37 stroke average.  Carta, who is from Udine, Italy, has placed in the top four in each of her last two tournaments and is the highest ranked ACC freshman golfer in the latest Golfweek Individual rankings.  She currently leads the nation with a .806 greens in regulation percentage.

With a career-best 73.42 stroke average, Choi heads to her third ACC Championship.  Choi placed fourth at ACC’s as a freshman and enters postseason with five top 20 finishes on the season.

Seeing action in her second straight tournament, Lisa Maguire has turned in a 78.57 stroke average in seven rounds this year.  A product of Cavan, Ireland, Maguire is coming off totaling a round of 79 at the Liz Murphey Collegiate Classic and has been seeing steady improvement in practice.

Duke has posted three titles (2012, 2013 & 2014), two third place (2009 & 2010) and two second place (2011, 2015) finishes over the last seven years since the ACC Championship was moved to Sedgefield Country Club in 2009.

Other Duke Notes:

  • Overall, Duke has won the ACC Championship in 1984, ’85, ’93, ’96, ’97, ’98, ’99, 2000, ’01, ’02, ’03, ’04, ’05, ’06, ’07, ’08, ’12, ’13, ’14.
  • Thirteen different Blue Devils have claimed individual honors at the ACC Championship— Mary Anne Widman (1984), Evelyn Orley (1985), Kathi Poppmeier (1994), Jenny Chuasiriporn (1996 & 1997), Beth Bauer (1999), Maria Garcia-Estrada (2000), Virada Nirapathpongporn (2001), Candy Hannemann (2002), Brittany Lang (2004 & 2005), Blumenherst (2006, 2007 & 2008), Lindy Duncan (2012), Celine Boutier (2014), Leona Maguire (2015)
  • Brooks is in his 32nd season with the Blue Devils. He is a 13-time ACC Coach of the Year selection and has led Duke to an NCAA-record 125 victories.  Brooks has guided the Blue Devils to NCAA Championships in 1999, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2014.
  • Two different Blue Devils have won individual titles this season – Celine Boutier (LSU Tiger Golf Classic) and Leona Maguire (Tar Heel Invitational)
  • Leona Maguire is in the running for the ANNIKA Award as the National Player of the Year.
  • Sophomore Leona Maguire has counted all 50 rounds she has competed in as a Blue Devil since arriving a year ago.


Share this post

submit to reddit
scroll to top